Keep the Main Thing the Main Thing


Keep the Main Thing the Main Thing
by Ted Slater on May 19, 2008 at 12:53 PM

I enjoy lively discussions about global warming and evolution and chicken wings as much as the next guy. Perhaps more. Ultimately, though, these things are trivialities.

And so I found myself over the weekend mulling over what the main thing truly is, the thing that should daily fuel my imagination.

And what is this main thing? Paul declared that the thing of “first importance” was this: “that Christ died for our sins.” Elsewhere he identified the main thing about which he would boast: the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. In the end, there was but one thing that Paul wanted to know and make known: “Jesus Christ and him crucified.” The death of Christ will continue being a focus of our worship even in heaven, where the heavenly beings are even now proclaiming, “Worthy is the Lamb who was slain.”

How easily I forget. How easily I find myself entangled in mere novelties. And so I find myself reflecting on the crucial words of a sermon given by C.J. Mahaney:

Ought not the patient to be familiar with the physician? Ought not the bride to be familiar with the bridegroom? Ought not the sinner to be familiar with the Savior? Beyond doubt it ought to be so. Surely we can not know this Christ too well. Surely there is not a word, nor a deed, nor a day, nor a step, nor a thought in the record of His life which ought not to be precious to us.

Father, saying that we are doing better than we deserve is one serious understatement. In light of your Holiness and our sinfulness, what we deserve is your judgment, your wrath, hell, and yet, because You are rich in mercy, we have become objects of Your mercy and no longer objects of Your wrath as we trust in Your Son and His finished work on our behalf for our sins. We come to you tonight clothed in the righteousness of another, clothed in the righteousness of Your Son in whom is all Your delight.

The cross is the blazing fire at which the flame of our love is kindled. We have to get near enough to it for its sparks to fall on us.

My sins have been great, but what was accomplished through the cross of Christ is greater. I’m a great sinner, but He is a greater Savior. Today may I draw near enough to Christ’s cross that its sparks fall on me, setting my love aflame. Today may I boast in Christ and him crucified. Today may I keep the main thing the main thing: Christ died for my sins.

Leave a Reply

