Count it all a loss…


Yesterday I was on the bus, on my way to work, listening to some music on my ipod. I was bumping some of that Brooke Fraser…she has a song titled “Faithful” A song I have heard plenty of times but this time a lyric resonated in my heart “I count this world as loss to me.” Here she quotes the words of Paul in the book of Philippians.

I then thought about how a poster of that verse hanging on my bedroom wall..

and i realized…

i really don’t count it ALL as loss…

I cling so closely to things of this world. What i spend my time on reflects it, the pursuit of my own name instead of the name that above all names, Jesus. I treasure peoples perception of me greater.

Paul in Philippians 3:7-8 weighed in his worldly status and weighed in knowing Christ Jesus and the knowledge of Jesus surpassed the value and tipped the scale. So He anchored all he had in and on the person of Christ.

Scripture shows us that another man had a similar experience when he encountered a greater treasure.

Matthew 13:44 “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.

I so easily forget it and need to be reminded of this daily, to selling of ALL the Counting of ALL as loss. Outwardly and Inwardly. As well as asking the tough questions “Alex, do you really count it all as loss compared to Jesus or are you saying that because it sounds like something honorable to say.”

God bless,

Alex

Leave a Reply

