Top 5 Albums of 2011


Well, 2011 has come and gone leaving behind a great amount of music. I have complied my favorite albums of 2011.

1) Andy Mineo – Formerly Known

With probably the most well rounded albums of the year Andy Mineo’s Formerly Known takes home the prize. Here we have a free album beating out albums with huge budgets for design, production, and other expenses. Andy showed that he is not only a singer but and above average rapper. He bares his heart on the album and points to the heart of God revealed in his Word. By the way, my wife can rap the entire album acapella. (Andy is one of my best friends and I tried to be as unbias as possible lol)

2) Mat Kearney – Young Love

Mat Kearney’s amazing writing skill is highlighted over heavy drum programming and beautiful melodies. This is an album that I constantly go back to when I just want to chill out and take a drive.

3) Mumford & Son – Sigh No More

Yes! It’s so depressing (as my wife believes) but I love the writing on this album. Mumford & Son have a knack for writing transparent and real lyrics concerning life and the brokenness of man.

4) Tedashii – Blacklight

As a huge fan of his previous release, Identity Crisis, I was really looking forward to his next release and he did not disappoint. Although, Identity Crisis had a more cohesive message throughout, Blacklight had plenty of hits (Riot, Can’t Get With You, Dum Dum, He Lives, & Reverse) and stood on its own as a new sound for the flowin’ Samoan.

5) Nero – Welcome Reality

Who is Nero? I was asking the same question until I ran into their collaboration with the BBC Philharmonic. Their album did not disappoint, with its heavy dubstep influence, it constantly finds itself playing in the background as I work.

Honorable Mention:
1)Kanye West & Jay-Z – Watch the Throne (The production value on this album was unbelievable. It expanded the sound of Hip-Hop. While most of their content was outrageous it does not take away from the incredible artistry.)

2) Da Truth – The Whole Truth (No other artist has shaped my worldview greater than Da Truth. After the release of The Big Picture, Da Truth returned with an honest, redemptive, and grace laden album.)

14 thoughts on “Top 5 Albums of 2011

  1. That’s a great list. My Top 5 Albums of 2011 are (In no particular order):

    1. Needtobreathe – The Reckoning
    2. Mat Kearney – Young Love
    3. Switchfoot – Vice Verses
    4. Braille – Native Lungs
    5. Playdough – Hotdoggin

    Honorable Mention: Tedashii – Blacklight, PRo – Dying to Live, Propaganda and Odd Thomas – Art Ambidextrous

  2. Pretty component to content. I simply stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact
    loved account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds or
    even I success you get entry to constantly fast.

  3. always i used to read smaller articles or reviews
    hich also clear their motive, and that is also happening with this article which I am
    reading here.

  4. Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums tuat deal with the
    same topics? Thanks forr your time!

  5. It’s гeally a ɡreat ɑnd helpful piece of info.
    I аm halpy that you shared tɦіs սseful info with us. Please stay uѕ informed likme tɦiѕ.
    Tɦanks for sharing.

  6. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but
    after checkking through some oof the post I realized it’s new to
    me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll
    be book-marking and checking back often!

  7. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just
    extremely wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way
    in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep
    it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a tremendous website.

Leave a Reply

